On November 20, 2017, President Trump announced that North Korea would be designated a “state sponsor of terrorism.”  The only other countries with this designation are Syria, Iran, and Sudan.  The president also stated that the United States would announce the imposition of additional sanctions on Pyongyang.  The next day, the US Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) announced sanctions against one individual, 13 entities, and 20 vessels operating in or with ties to North Korea.

For more information, please see our advisory.